HSB 647 Medical Privacy & Freedom Act Subcommittee Discussion

Published February 12, 2022 174 Views

2/12/2022

During this episode of The Freedom Factor, we discuss yesterdays Subcommittee meeting on HSB 647, with the founder of Iowans for Informed consent, Sonya Swan.

!! IMPORTANT CALL TO ACTION !!

It's been a long time since a piece of legislation was written that actually protects medical freedoms of Iowans. Watch our interview with Sonya Swan to find out more about the amazing subcommittee meeting that took place on Thursday.

We know the legislature and the Governor passed two previous bills that were supposed to protect our medical freedoms. They were advised by various groups that these were not enough to protect Iowans, and indeed Iowans are still facing discrimination, coercion, segregation, intimidation, and more. (we spoke against both bills at their respective meetings)

HSB 647, The Medical Privacy and Freedom Act...
is the most comprehensive legislation that has been introduced to date!

You can read the bill here. https://www.legis.iowa.gov/legislation/BillBook?ga=89&ba=HSB647

This House Study Bill, passed through the subcommittee Thursday and will be moving onto committee sometime next week.

This is only the beginning of its journey.
It must then pass the full committee, and then be approved for floor debate if the speaker of the House allows it to reach that point.

There is pushback already from BOTH political parties, and the Lobby, so we need your help!

Below is a list of the FULL State Government Committee through which this bill must pass next.

PLEASE EMAIL THE STATE GOVERNMENT COMMITTEE MEMBERS TODAY!

Here are the Committee Members by party:

Republicans
bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
Brooke.Boden@legis.iowa.gov
rob.bacon@legis.iowa.gov
Jane.Bloomingdale@legis.iowa.gov
Jacob.Bossman@legis.iowa.gov
megan.jones@legis.iowa.gov
Shannon.Lundgren@legis.iowa.gov
Ann.Meyer@legis.iowa.gov
Joe.Mitchell@legis.iowa.gov
Tom.Moore@legis.iowa.gov
Carter.Nordman@legis.iowa.gov
Mike.Sexton@legis.iowa.gov
Brent.Siegrist@legis.iowa.gov

Democrats
mary.mascher@legis.iowa.gov
dennis.cohoon@legis.iowa.gov
Molly.Donahue@legis.iowa.gov
Eric.Gjerde@legis.iowa.gov
bruce.hunter@legis.iowa.gov
Monica.Kurth@legis.iowa.gov
Amy.Nielsen@legis.iowa.gov
cindy.winckler@legis.iowa.gov
mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov

IT WILL JUST TAKE A FEW MINUTES!

When you contact these legislators, TELL YOUR STORY or that of a friend or family member.

Let them know you support them voting FOR this bill and that this is of paramount importance to you. If you are in their district be sure to let them know you are in their district.
ONE MORE THING!

Please make a public comment on the bill by clicking the link below and read through some of the heart wrenching stories shared by our fellow Iowans. There are already over 100 pages of comments! Quite possibly more than any bill in the history of Iowa!

If you would like to be on the record and would like to be a part of history, add yours today!
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/committees/subcommitteePublicComments?meetingID=34861&action=viewCommitteePublicComments

Iowa Stands United

Loading comments...