These Six Countries Are Competing In The Winter Olympics For The Very First Time

TravelandLeisurePublished: February 9, 2018
Published: February 9, 2018

The Olympic Games have always been the place where the strongest and most talented people have gathered to show their excessive skills in a certain field. Even back in Ancient Greece, the whole focus of the world turned towards the Games. It is believed that they first started in 776 BC in the valley of Olympia as a part of a religious ritual for Zeus, the king of all gods, and took place every 4 years. They were so popular that they had the power to cause cease-fire throughout the Hellenic world.

The games in Ancient times lasted for about eight centuries, ending in the 4th century AD, but they were recreated once more in 1896. The modern Olympics didn’t have the same sports as its predecessor, but they were still highly influenced by it. Nowadays there are two editions of the Olympics, one in winter and one in summer. Following tradition, the Olympic Games in PyeongChang of 2018 opened on February 9, four years after the Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia.

The Games would last until February 25 and they will consist of 102 events in fifteen sports disciplines, and a total of 2,952 athletes from 92 National Olympic Committees. What makes these Games different is that there are six countries that are competing for the very first time, such as Ecuador, Eritrea, Kosovo, Malaysia, Nigeria and Singapore. Best of luck and may the best ones win!

Be the first to suggest a tag