Nasa Video | Exoplanets The Quest for Strange New Worlds

SpaceVideoPublished: January 30, 2018Updated: February 9, 2018
Published: January 30, 2018Updated: February 9, 2018

Original air date: January 12 at 7 p.m. PT (10 p.m. ET, 0300 UTC)

Planets orbiting other stars, or exoplanets, have become an important field of astronomical study over the past two and a half decades. Recent findings from NASA's Kepler mission suggest that nearly every star you see in the night sky probably has exoplanets orbiting it. The number of confirmed exoplanets is now a few thousand. This talk will present a brief history of exoplanet discoveries, the story of the “super-Saturn” extrasolar ring system, and summarize NASA’s ongoing future plans to discover and characterize “strange new worlds.”

Speaker: Eric Mamajek, Deputy Program Chief Scientist, NASA Exoplanet Exploration Program, JPL

Subscribe For More Videos Like This: http://www.youtube.com/user/ouramazingspace?sub_confirmation=1

See my latest videos : https://www.youtube.com/user/ouramazingspace/videos

Bringing you the BEST Space and Astronomy videos online. Showcasing videos and images from the likes of NASA,ESA,Hubble etc.

Join me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/spaceisamazing

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AmazingSpace2

Google+ : http://goo.gl/1WCBn9

Be the first to suggest a tag

    Comments

    0 comments