Nasa JPL: Sunlight & Science live public talk

SpaceVideoPublished: January 28, 2018Updated: February 8, 2018
Published: January 28, 2018Updated: February 8, 2018

Original air date: April 6 at 7 p.m. PT (10 p.m. ET, 0200 UTC)

Earth science is a key to understanding our universe. Planetary science relies on ideas and technologies developed and tested here on Earth.

Like a Star Trek "sensor sweep," a technique of remote sensing called spectral mapping is used to learn about celestial bodies.

These types of instruments use reflected sunlight to produce imagery of the chemical composition of planetary surfaces. The information captured in these data is useful to many fields of Earth environmental, as well as planetary, research. In this talk, research systems engineer Mark Helmlinger shares photos and videos of spectral mapping field deployments to various regions of California, the United States, and India, both in the air and on the ground.
He discusses the science behind measuring spectra of reflected sunlight, and perform physical demonstrations to illuminate a few of the phenomena that make spectral remote sensing possible.

Subscribe For More Videos Like This: http://www.youtube.com/user/ouramazingspace?sub_confirmation=1

See my latest videos : https://www.youtube.com/user/ouramazingspace/videos

Bringing you the BEST Space and Astronomy videos online. Showcasing videos and images from the likes of NASA,ESA,Hubble etc.

Join me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/spaceisamazing

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AmazingSpace2

Google+ : http://goo.gl/1WCBn9

Music by Keving Macleod
http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/

Be the first to suggest a tag

    Comments

    0 comments