Westerly School Committee Approves Equity Audit In 4-3 Decision After Head Spinning Discussion

Published September 23, 2022 260 Views

Put on your seatbelts. You’re in for a bumpy ride. Description alone cannot properly convey the sentiment and accuracy of a discussion prior to approving an equity audit to Public Consulting Group for the Westerly school system.

In twisted pretzel logic, Mr. Cilino gives a head spinning explanation why he felt there was a need to do an equity audit simply because the prior education audits didn’t show him the data he was trying to find. That is, he was looking for a racial component that audits did not show to be true.

Confused? You should be. He’s proffering a possible need for solutions even though the audit has not even commenced.

Chrisitine Cooke gives well thought out comments at the 5:06 and 12:52 timestamps.

Rebecca Fowler has severe reservations about the need for a vote with not being able to discuss with Public Consulting Group at the 8:38 timestamp. Yet, votes Yea anyway.

Guiseppe Gencarelli at 10:26. “We are nowhere close the middle.”

Here’s how the Westerly school committee voted in a 4-3 decision. Note email addresses provided.

Yeas: Michael Ober mober@westerly.k12.ri.us
Robert Cilino rcillino@westerly.k12.ri.us
Rebecca Fowler rfowler@westerly.k12.ri.us
Diane Bowdy dbowdy@westerly.k12.ri.us

Nays: Christine Cooke ccooke@westerly.k12.ri.us
Guiseppe Gencarelli ggencarelli@westerly.k12.ri.us
Marianne Nardone mnardone@westerly.k12.ri.us

Loading 1 comment...